About Me

My photo
Cradle Catholic with a lot of questions; such as, why am I just figuring this stuff out now?

May 31, 2011

The Different Types of Holy Water

In fact there are three types of holy water, which vary by common use. First there is blessed water. Essentially, this is ordinary water that is made holy by a priest’s blessing. This type of water is used in the font at church entrances.  Catholics dip their fingers in the holy water and make the sign of the cross when entering the church as a reminder of the sacrament of baptism. The next type of holy water is known as the “water of consecration” or “Gregorian water.” Gregorian water is strictly used in the consecration of a church. It is composed of water, wine, salt and ashes. Finally there is baptismal water, which sometimes contains oil of catechumens and holy chrism. It is also considered acceptable to use blessed water as an alternative for baptismal holy water.

References: Why Do Catholics Do That? By Kevin Orlin Johnson

No comments:

Post a Comment